The Heart of Wang Daiyu’s Philosophy: The Seven Subtleties of Islamic Spiritual Physiology

Kristian Petersen

The heart possesses three aspects, called ‘the animal heart,’ ‘the human heart,’ and ‘the true heart’. These three hearts altogether possess seven levels: these are called [1] ‘the level of desire,’ [2] ‘the level of wisdom,’ [3] ‘the level of benevolence,’ [4] ‘the level of seeing,’ [5] ‘the level of joy,’ [6] ‘the level of mystery,’ and [7] ‘the supreme level’.

Click here to view the PDF

Originally published in the Journal of Sufi Studies. Republished here with thanks.